Texas Holdem > Poker tournaments > Aussie Millions

Aussie Millions

Ronald Norris
aussie millions
Australian Poker Championship

Aussie Millions (also known as the Australian Poker Championship) is a large poker tournament held at the Melbourne ’s Crown Casino. Aussie Millions is the richest poker tournament in the Southern Hemisphere with a prize pool over 7 million Australian Dollars.

The Australian Poker Championship was introduced in the beginning of 1997. The first major poker championship was held a bit later, in summer 1998. The Main Event of Aussie Millions was a Limit Texas Holdem Poker tournament with a $1,000 Australian Dollars buy-in that attracted 74 participants. The prize pool of the 1998’s Aussie Millions Main Event was 74,000 Australian Dollars.

The Crown Casino’s Australian Poker Championship, which became known as Aussie Millions then moved to the early winter of 2001 and attracted 40 participants competing for a 200,000 Australian Dollars prize pool (with a 5,000 Australian Dollars buy-in). In the beginning of 2003 the APC went international and attracted 122 participants competing for a 1,2 million of Australian Dollars prize pool.

In 2005, the Aussie Millions tournament increased in popularity and attracted 263 players competing for a 2,630,000 Australian Dollars prize pool with a 10,000 Australian Dollars buy-in to enter the No-Limit Texas Holdem Main Event. More than 50% of players were foreigners including participants from USA , Sweden , New Zealand , Ireland , England , Norway , Italy , Canada , Lebanon , Holland and Denmark .

In January 2006 Aussie Millions attracted even more players – 418 participants that competed for a 4,180,000 Australian Dollars prize pool. This championship attracted many world famous poker players including World Series of Poker champion Joe Hachem, Daniel Negreanu, John Juanda and Phil Ivey.

The 2007 Aussie Millions started on 14 th January 2007 and ended on 19 th January 2007 with a buy-in worth 10,500 Australian Dollars and 747 participants from 25 countries. Such quantity of players generated a prize pool of 7,470,000 Australian Dollars that was shared by 80 top players that received cash prizes between 15 thousands and 1,5 millions of Australian Dollars each.

The last Aussie Millions championship started on 20 th January 2008 and gathered a record of 780 players from 32 countries. The buy-in was 10,500 Australian Dollars, which built a prize pool of 7,800,000 Australian Dollars. The winner of the tournament, young Russian player Alexander Kostritsyn received 1,650,000 Australian Dollars and the rest of the prize pool was shared by other 79 winners of the championship.

Also recommended:

  1. World Series of Poker – WSOP
  2. European Poker Tour – EPT
  3. Freerolls
  4. Norwegian Student wins Latin American Poker Tour
  5. Playing in Poker Tournaments

Texas Holdem Guide News Articles Contacts

eXTReMe Tracker

Texas Holdem Guide 2004-2008 All Right Reserved